## BABERGH DISTRICT COUNCIL

# MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL MEETING OF THE BABERGH DISTRICT COUNCIL HELD IN THE COUNCIL CHAMBER, COUNCIL OFFICES, CORKS LANE, HADLEIGH ON TUESDAY, 23 MAY 2017

PRESENT: Peter Burgoyne - Chairman

Clive Arthey Sue Ayres **Tony Bavington** Sue Burgoyne **Tom Burrows** David Busby Tina Campbell Sue Carpendale Michael Creffield **Derek Davis** Siân Dawson Alan Ferguson Barry Gasper Kathryn Grandon Michael Holt Bryn Hurren Jennie Jenkins Richard Kemp Frank Lawrenson James Long Alastair McCraw Margaret Maybury John Nunn Adrian Osborne Jan Osborne Lee Parker Peter Patrick Stephen Plumb Nick Ridley **David Rose** William Shropshire Ray Smith Harriett Steer Fenella Swan John Ward

The following Councillors were unable to be present:

Melanie Barrett, Simon Barrett, Peter Beer, John Hinton, David Holland, Mark Newman and Stephen Williams.

# COUNCILLOR COLIN LAW, LEADER OF WAVENEY DISTRICT COUNCIL

Councillor Burgoyne opened the meeting and asked Members to stand for a minute's silence in memory of Colin Law. Jennie Jenkins referred to her personal memories of Councillor Law over a number of years.

## 1 <u>ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN</u>

Prior to consideration of this item Councillor Burgoyne left the Chamber.

With the agreement of the Council, Tony Bavington took the chair and invited nominations for Chairman of the Council. It was proposed and seconded that Peter Burgoyne be elected.

#### RESOLVED

# That Peter Burgoyne be elected Chairman of the Council for the ensuing year.

Peter Burgoyne thereupon returned to the Chamber. He made his Declaration of Office and presided over the meeting, following which he advised Council that his charities for the coming year would be announced shortly.

Members then stood for a minute's silence in memory of the victims of the Manchester terrorist attack.

## 2 ELECTION OF VICE-CHAIRMAN

It was proposed and seconded that Kathryn Grandon be elected Vice-Chairman of the Council.

## **RESOLVED**

That Kathryn Grandon be elected Vice-Chairman of the Council for the ensuing year.

Kathryn Grandon thereupon made her Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

## 3 DECLARATION OF INTERESTS BY COUNCILLORS

None declared.

## 4 BC/17/1 - MINUTES OF THE MEETING HELD ON 25 APRIL 2017

#### **RESOLVED**

That the minutes of the meeting held on 25 April 2017 be confirmed and signed as a correct record.

The Chairman referred to a Councillor request for further information regarding Minute No 115, which would be the subject of a separate briefing note.

## 5 TO RECEIVE ANY ANNOUNCEMENTS FROM THE CHAIRMAN AND LEADER

There were no further announcements at this point.

## 6 ELECTION OF THE LEADER OF THE COUNCIL

## **RESOLVED**

That Jennie Jenkins be elected Leader of the Council for the ensuing period of two years.

Councillor Jenkins then announced her Cabinet Member appointments, as follows:-

Jan Osborne – Deputy Leader and Housing Lee Parker – Planning John Ward – Economy Tina Campbell – Environment Margaret Maybury – Communities Peter Patrick – Customers Jennie Jenkins – Assets and Investments

## 7 APPOINTMENTS

<u>Designation of Committees and Joint Committees</u>

#### **RESOLVED**

That the following Committees and Joint Committees be appointed:-

Babergh Overview and Scrutiny Committee
Planning Committee
Babergh Licensing and Regulatory Committee
Joint Audit and Standards Committee
Joint Appointments Committee

BC/17/2 - Political balance and composition of Committees and Joint Committees (and appointment of Councillors to Committees and Joint Committees)

# **RESOLVED**

- (1) That the Committees' size and numerical allocation of seats be approved as detailed in Appendix 1 to Paper BC/17/2 Allocation of Committee Placements 2017-18.
- (2) That Committee seats be allocated as set out in Appendix 2 to Paper BC/17/2, as follows:-

## **OVERVIEW AND SCRUTINY COMMITTEE (8)**

Clive Arthey
Melanie Barrett
Peter Burgoyne
Barry Gasper
Kathryn Grandon
David Holland
Bryn Hurren
Alastair McCraw

# **JOINT AUDIT AND STANDARDS COMMITTEE (8)**

Tom Burrows
Michael Creffield
Frank Lawrenson
Alastair McCraw
Mark Newman
William Shropshire
Stephen Williams
1 Vacancy

**PLANNING COMMITTEE (14)** 

Sue Ayres Michael Holt
Peter Beer Adrian Osborne
Sue Burgoyne Stephen Plumb
David Busby Nick Ridley
Derek Davis David Rose
Alan Ferguson Ray Smith
John Hinton Fenella Swan

## **LICENSING AND REGULATORY COMMITTEE (10)**

Sue Ayres Richard Kemp
Tom Burrows John Nunn
Sue Carpendale Nick Ridley
Sian Dawson Ray Smith
Kathryn Grandon Fenella Swan

# **JOINT APPOINTMENTS COMMITTEE (3)**

Jennie Jenkins James Long Jan Osborne

## Election of Chairmen and Vice-Chairmen of Committees

#### **RESOLVED**

- (1) That Barry Gasper and David Holland be elected Chairman and Vice-Chairman respectively of the Babergh Overview and Scrutiny Committee for the ensuing year.
- (2) That Nick Ridley and Adrian Osborne be elected Chairman and Vice-Chairman respectively of the Planning Committee for the ensuing year.
- (3) That Nick Ridley and Ray Smith be elected Chairman and Vice-

Chairman respectively of the Babergh Licensing and Regulatory Committee for the ensuing year.

- (4) That Frank Lawrenson and William Shropshire be elected Chairman and Vice-Chairman respectively of the Joint Audit and Standards Committee for the ensuing year.
- (5) That Jennie Jenkins be elected Chairman of the Joint Appointments Committee for the ensuing year.

BC/17/3 - Appointment of Councillors to Outside Bodies

#### **RESOLVED**

That Councillors be appointed to Outside Bodies as detailed in the Appendix to Paper BC/17/3 (attached to these Minutes).

Appointment of Councillors to the Shared Revenues Partnership Committee

That the following Councillors be appointed to serve on the Shared Revenues Partnership Committee for the ensuing year:-

Jan Osborne
Peter Patrick
Substitute Members – Sue Ayres and Margaret Maybury

Appointments to the Suffolk Joint Standards Board

That the following Councillors be appointed to serve on the Suffolk Joint Standards Board for the ensuing year:-

Bryn Hurren Adrian Osborne David Rose

Appointments to the Joint Gypsy and Traveller Steering Group

That the following Councillors be appointed to serve on the Joint Gypsy and Traveller Steering Group for the ensuing year:-

Sue Ayres Tony Bavington Peter Burgoyne Lee Parker

# 8 BC/17/4 - TIMETABLE OF MEETINGS 2017/18

#### **RESOLVED**

That the 2017/18 Timetable of Meetings as set out in Paper BC/17/4 be noted.

## 9 BC/17/5 - ANNUAL REPORT OF THE JOINT SCRUTINY COMMITTEE 2016/17

Kathryn Grandon, outgoing Vice-Chairman of the Joint Scrutiny Committee introduced the Committee's Annual Report outlining the Committee's main areas of work and achievements during the year.

#### **RESOLVED**

That the Annual Report of the Joint Audit and Scrutiny Committee and the Babergh Scrutiny Committee (Paper BC/17/5) be noted.

## 10 EXCLUSION OF THE PUBLIC (WHICH TERM INCLUDES THE PRESS)

#### **RESOLVED**

That pursuant to Part 1 of Schedule 12A of the Local Government Act 1972, the public be excluded from the meeting for the business specified below on the grounds that if the public were present during this item it is likely that there would be the disclosure to them of exempt information as indicated against the item.

That Council was also satisfied that the public interest in maintaining the exemption outweighed the public interest in disclosing the information.

11 <u>BC/17/6 - CONFIDENTIAL MINUTE OF THE MEETING HELD ON 25 APRIL 2017</u> (Exempt information by virtue of Paragraph 3 of Part 1)

#### **RESOLVED**

That Confidential Minute No 115 of the Council Meeting held on 25 April 2017 be confirmed and signed as a correct record.

The business of the meeting was concluded at 10.30 a.m	
	Chairman